image 2

Frequently Asked Questions:

How much do the Classes cost?

Regular registration for the Missouri CCW 8 hour class, Florida 8 hour CCW class, and NRA Basic Pistol class is $125 per student. Regular registration for the 16 hour Illinois Concealed Carry class is $190. There are often specials for certain classes.

Check the Registration Page for current specials.

Do you offer Illinois 12 Hr. CCW classes?

Yes, you would need to register for the 16 Hr. class and contact CCW Tactical Defense to receive a discount. You would only need to be present for a half day on the first day of class, followed by a full day of training for part B.

I only need the 8 HR. Illinois CCW class so can I just take one day of the 16 Hr. class?

Yes, depending on class size. All of the 8 Hr. Illinois CCW training requirements are presented on day 2 of the 16 Hr. class.

Will I receive my CCW permit from CCW Tactical Defense?

No. After successfully completing the course you will receive a training certificate from CCW Tactical Defense. You then need to take that certificate to your issueing authority (Police). The chief law enforcement officer in your area (Missouri) or the Illinois State Police will then review your application. Assuming you qualify, that agency will issue your CCW credentials.

How long are the classes?

The NRA basic Pistol, Florida, and the Missouri CCW classes require 8 hours including the range portion. The clasroom portion runs through mid afternoon, followed by the range portion. Lunch is provided. There is a 16 hour and an 8 hour class offered for Illinois concealed carry. You need to take the 16 hour course unless you qualify for prior training credit. (See Illinois State Police website for qualifying credits.) Common prequalifying credit includes military service, hunter safety course, and other firearm training such as Missouri CCW or NRA Basic Pistol.

Do I need prior firearms or pistol experience to take the class?

No. The classes are taught from the perspective of someone having no experience with handguns.

When and where do you hold classes?

The class schedule can be found on the homepage. Various classrooms and ranges are used for the courses. Once registered, any additional information along with an invoice will be emailed to you.

Is there an accuracy requirement for the shooting portion of the class?

Yes. For the Missouri CCW class, students must get at least 15 out of 20 shots within the black portion of a standard B-27 silhouette at a distance of 7 yards. For the NRA Basic Pistol and Florida CCW course students must get 30 shots within a 9 inch circle at a distance of 15 feet. For the Illinois CCW class you must get at least 21 shots within the black portion of a B-27 target by firing 10 shots at a distance of 5, 7, and 10 yards (30 shots total).

What do you cover in the Concealed Carry classes?

We cover all of the state requirements including review of the state laws pertaining to the concealed carry endorsement. We also cover basic firearm safety, operation, maintenance, storage, and use.

How does the Concealed Carry application process work?

From start to finish: One, receive a certificate after successfully compleating the Missouri or Illinois CCW course from an approved instructor like those at CCW Tactical Defense. Two, take the certificate to your chief law enforcement officer(Missouri) or the Illinois State Police (Illinois) for review and background check.

What do I need to bring to the Concealed Carry class?

Yourself, a positive attitude, and a sack lunch IF you do not want the provided sliced sub sandwich or pizza.

What should I NOT bring to the Concealed Carry class?

Even if you are going to use your own firearm(s) and ammo for the range portion, DO NOT bring them to the classroom portion. No student firearms or ammo are allowed in the classroom.

Can I use my own gun(s) for the range portion?

Yes IF it is .22 long rifle. Larger calibers are not allowed due to private firing range restrictions.

Refunds?

You can request a full refund up to 7 days prior to the class date that you paid for. You may instead request to be in a later class than the one you registered for. This request must also be received no later than 7 days prior to the class date you registered and paid for. No refund will be issued for failing to attend the class that you registered for. No refund will be issued for a class that you attended.

If I am going to use my own .22 pistol(s) and ammo for the class, how much ammo should I bring?

You will need a minimum of 60 rounds for the Illinois class, but 100 is recommended. You will need a minimum of 40 rounds for the Missouri CCW class, but 50 is recommended. You need to bring 50 rounds for the Florida and NRA Basic Pistol class.

Shop CombatOptical.com Today!
Shop Crosman.com Today!
HuntSmart.com -  An Outfitter for you and your dog!